It may just seem like a bit of fun, but there are risks that come with decorating your car with lights during the winter holidays.
By law, the unauthorized use of flashing or colored lights is an infraction. Infractions are punishable by fines, usually set by Superior Court judges, of between $35 and $90, plus a $20 or $35 surcharge and an additional fee based on the amount of the fine. Though this fine seems minimal, the additional risk of being found in fault for and accident is no small matter. Experts maintain that motorists, as well as pedestrians, are attracted to bright lights; it can be the flashing red of a police cruiser or roadside lighting of a construction zone. The attraction to these lights is referred to as “the moth effect.” Drivers can be so mesmerized by these lights that they can misjudge distance and speed resulting in mild to serious accidents. If your vehicle is lit up with aftermarket lighting you can be found at fault if an accident occurs.
According to CT Chapter 246 Motor Vehicles Statutes:
Sec. 14-96p. Color of lights. Flashing lights. Intensity of lights. (a) Except as provided in section 14-96q, no person shall display upon any motor vehicle or equipment: (1) Any light visible from the front of such motor vehicle or equipment other than white, yellow or amber; (2) any light visible from the rear of such motor vehicle or equipment other than red, yellow, amber or white; or (3) any red light visible from directly in front of the center of such motor vehicle or equipment. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subsection, a taxicab shall display the dome light or lights required by regulations that have been adopted by the Commissioner of Transportation under the authority of section 13b-96.
Can you put Christmas lights on a car?
Some question if it is Legal to Have Christmas Lights on Your Car in Connecticut? The answer is “no”—it is technically not legal to have Christmas lights (and other light-up decorations) on the inside or outside of your car.
Are Under glow lights illegal in CT?
Connecticut laws restrict all additional aftermarket vehicle lighting including but not limited to neon overglow or under glow. In Connecticut neon overglow or underflow is illegal.
Is it legal to have color changing headlights?
No, the only color headlight that is legal to use in any state is white. … Every state has its own specific laws governing the legal color of headlights, as well as when they should be used. In Connecticut the only allowable colors for lights on the front of a vehicle are white, yellow, and amber.
What color can daytime running lights be?
You cannot have additional aftermarket daytime running lights on your vehicle. The only color legally allowed to be displayed to the front of a vehicle is white or amber – white headlights, amber turn signals/running lights. The only color allowed to be displayed to the rear is red or amber – red tail/brake lights, amber turn signals. In addition, in accordance with Connecticut State Law Title 14 Sec. 14-96y there may be no more than four lamps exceeding 300 candlepower illuminated at the front at any one time. This means that if the headlamp system has two lamps on each side illuminated at any time then the auxiliary lamps must extinguish automatically. Furthermore, any auxiliary lamps of over 300 candlepower must only illuminate with the tail lamps and may not be independent for use on the road. Any additional lamps of less than 300 candlepower must produce amber or yellow or white light.
At Tindall Law Firm We Have Experience With All Types of Vehicle Accidents
Regardless of the nature of the vehicle accident, it is important that you speak with an attorney about your injuries as soon as possible. You should also seek medical attention immediately after an accident, to get checked out because some injuries are not readily apparent when you are in shock and your adrenaline if pumping right after a collision occurs. For a free consultation with a Waterbury car accident injury lawyer, please call 203.755.0018 or contact us online.